A Young Doctor’s Oath

What a whirlwind-week. From the Oath Taking Ceremony to Graduation to packing up all my belongings and trekking 1000km to my old-new home. It felt so wonderful, being inducted as part of the medical profession. And the graduation cloak helped too – I felt like someone at Hogwarts and it was really fun!

Oath-taking was really special to me, so I made this soundbite. I had the desire to thank a whole lot of people and to impress how many people contributed to my success*, and this was the closest I could get – I should probably add TO ALL MY BLOG READERS WHO HAVE KEPT ME SANE!

What a journey these six years have been. Here’s to a new era.

* Most of this came to me during a rest station in the OBGYN final exam… the Muse never promised to be considerate!

P.S: speaking of saying thank you… check this guy who thanked his parents at his grad recently – it’s so sweet!

27 thoughts on “A Young Doctor’s Oath”

  1. I helped put a girl through College (Business School) and she was in her teens or early twenties. Anyhow, you got shoes and a Cellphone and thanked me. She is in the Philippines. She became one of the top students finishing 1st in her class. Our lives are sometimes not what we hoped or expected for, but like you the work was worth it.

    I am proud of you because you push forward to a better thing and hopefully patients lives won’t burn you out. It must be hard to be caring and trying to set those feelings aside. Keep up the great wok, I am pulling for you.

    Larry

  2. Megz, Thank you for recording this and letting me hear your voice again. This brought tears to my eyes. Tears of pride in you, tears of longing, wishing I could just hug you. Tears knowing you already ARE all the things you promised. I have no fear that you will slide backward. This ‘good’ thing: it’s in you. With love and fierce pride, Jackie

  3. Oh dear, there was a longing sensation that won’t leave me today. It hit me later, it was your blogs I was missing. You are such a sweet person Megz. I’m glad I came through your blog. Words can do you justice. You make me strive to become a better medical student and doctor. Good luck with your future career.

  4. That was lovely Mariechen! I wish you much satisfaction and a nice long run in your profession, congratulations!!!!!

    ~Nancy

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

