Bookishness

Top Ten Books I Read in 2014

With TTT and The Broke and the Bookish this week we do a roundup of our favourite reads of the year. Obviously this is really hard, but I’ll try. The links are to my reviews, unless I haven’t written a review, in which case they refer to the GoodReads page.

Three Daughters by Consuelo Saah Baehr – It pushed all the right buttons. I loved it, and it might be the most unexpected favourite of my entire year.

three daughters

The Body Electric by Beth Revis – a really fantastic sci-fi read set in Malta.

bodyelectric

Vanessa and her Sister by Priya Parmar – another golden historical fiction that I thought was fantastically done.

vanessaandhersister

Red Rising by Pierce Brown – a young adult dystopic that exceeded the standards set by previous best-sellers. It had a bit of a slow spot in the middle but all-in-all I loved it, and the GoodReads voters agreed with me!

redrising

The Terrible and Wonderful Reasons Why I Run Long Distances by Matthew Inman – this guy GETS it.

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley – a groundbreaker in YA historical fiction with diverse characters.

lies quote

The Country of Ice Cream Star by Sandra Newman – I so wish this book got more hype. It takes time and effort to read this book (like Cloud Atlas) but it is out of this world.

icecreamquote

Stuff Matters by Mark Miodownik – one of the most fun and fluent sciency books I have ever read. I have regaled (well, I think I have!) so many people with the cool things I learned in this book.

Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt – the first book I read this year and it still sticks. It was worth the hype!

quote tell the wolves i'm home

The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert – this epic took a long time to read and I enjoyed every moment. The descriptions are on point and Gilbert really gets into the heart of unconventional Alma.

signatureofallthings

Have you read any of these books? Did you like them? What were your favourite books this past year?

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Read in 2014”

  1. I haven’t read any of these, but I may look into Red Rising and Vanessa and Her Sister. My favorite books from this past year are The Lux Series and The Divergent Series. But my all time favorites were The Lux because those books were seriously moving.

  2. Great reads! I haven’t had the chance to start Body Electric yet but I hope to get there soon! I hope it’s as good as Revis’ other works, I loved AtU series.
    I also must read Red Rising, have had it for motnhs and it’s about time I get to it as bk 2 ARCs are already coming out.
    Happy reading!

    1. I haven’t read anything else by Revis so I can’t comment on that unfortunately, but I did think it was awesome.
      I can’t WAIT to read Golden Son – I really hope I can snag an ARC of it somehow!

  3. I like how you’ve included a quote with each of your choices. It helps me get a feel for them, and you’re the only person in the link list I’ve seen whose done that. Clever!

  4. I have Red Rising and The Signature of All Things on by TBR! This Top Ten Tuesday meme always results in my TBR pile getting even larger… I love your list πŸ™‚

  5. Hi! I haven’t read any of these either but I will definitely be checking out The Body Electric, it sounds fascinating! And I have Red Rising as a group read, so I will let you know what I think once I’ve read it! πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by on our blog by the way πŸ™‚

  6. These graphics are soooo pretty and I LOVE THE QUOTES! I’ve seen a few people mention their favourite quotes in this TTT and that’s such a good idea! HUZZAH. I loved Lies We Tell Ourselves and Red Rising (though I read that last year) and I want to read the Body Electric soooo bad.

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

