Being Active in the Eastern Cape

Let me start without prelude and say: I RAN MY FIRST 10KM IN PROBABLY SIX YEARS!

If you look at my sidebar, you’ll see a brand new Girls Gone Sporty Ambassador’s badge. In fact, it’s so pretty, I’ll post it here:

girlsgonesporty-ambassador-badge

I first heard about GGS through Lisa. I’m not really sure what my alliance with them will include exactly, but so far it seems like a great community which helps because although being active makes me really happy, I need a lot of motivation.

Anyway: being active. The city I live in now is WAAAAAY tinier than Cape Town, so there is considerably less lazing around to do. Which is a good thing, because that allows me to do a lot more outdoorsy stuff.

Last Friday I ran the PwC Nite Race in East London (South Africa). There was a 5km and 10km option, running or walking, and I decided to be brave and enter for the 10km as a runner. It was a road run, which was a little easier than the normal ParkRuns, and I managed to run the first 5km without any walking inbetween. Pretty stoked about that.

It was so great. It felt like there were thousands of people (there probably were) and the orange T-shirts we got are so nice. (Can you tell I’m not used to anything?) I ran with friends, and a lot of my colleagues ran too, so it was just great. I finished with minimal walking (there were a few nasty uphills…) and had the biggest runner’s high afterwards.

1619343_10153082884354612_2473380556075688956_n
Some friends and me… I’m the shorty!

That following Sunday, I joined some of my fellow interns in exploring Stutterheim. Stutt is a beautiful foresty little town in the Eastern Cape and we went to hike the Kologha Trails. We started with the shortest route – about 2km to a lovely waterfall. We then attempted the longer routes, but they had not been used in so long! After about a kilometer of walking through cobwebs, one of our party started getting hives and we were a little worried as she did not have her inhaler with her, so we turned back. We will definitely return – but next time with walking sticks and more bug repellent!

It is absolutely gorgeous there, though, and I highly recommend it. Stutterheim also has its own ParkRun, which I fully intend to try one day soon.

Chilling after the hike.
Chilling after the hike.

I am registered for the Surfer’s Challenge on Valentine’s Day! I last ran this 17,5km all-terrain challenge in 2008 and I’m very excited to do it again. If you’re in the area, join me! I’ll also be doing the Tomato Trot, although I’m still deciding which route I will take.

As for ParkRuns, I won’t be doing one this week because… drumroll… I am on 24 hour call on Friday! It’s my second call so I hope it will go okay. I probably won’t get any sleep so Saturday will be catch-up day.

Goals for the rest of this month and February:

  1. try out some of the local running clubs
  2. join some classes at the gym (pilates, maybe?)
  3. run at least three times after work in a week. I’m really tired when I get home but running makes me feel so good…
  4. consider investing in some new running shoes! Mine are pretty heavy all-purpose trainers that I also use for hiking as well as for being on-call!

Which running shoes do you use or recommend? I’m looking for suggestions! 🙂

13 thoughts on “Being Active in the Eastern Cape”

  1. Hi, just because you were asking for recommendations regarding running shoes: if you need shoes at all stick to your old sneakers or buy some cheap Kajak shoes ( just a neoprene shoes) – that will minimize risk of injury significantly. New shoes with gels, air or any kind of padding on the other hand are a good recipe for common running injuries. I run barefoot most of the year – and have been running injury free for two decades.

    I love your blog, congratulations on graduation and your first ” real” job. I am certain you will be a wonderful doctor.

    Kristina

    1. Thanks Kristina! I love being barefoot too, although I don’t often run barefoot, unless I run on the beach. I’m a little worried about thorns and glass otherwise.

    1. Thank you! I’ve seen Asics around a lot but never tried them myself. I’m definitely looking for something a little lighter though because my current pair is heavy-ish. I’ll keep them around for when I need them!

  2. I always go to the same place that has a treadmill you run on, they video your feet and play it back in slow-motion to find the best type of shoe for your foot!

  3. Aw coooool! GGS is definitely a lovely community, and the more you involve yourself in it the more you get out of it, for sure.

    I’m so excited for your races! Good stuff, rockstar 🙂

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

