Don’t Miss West Side Story at the Artscape!

Standard

I’m on leave in Cape Town and it is wonderful! As part of my effort to squish as much fun into a week as possible, my sister and I watched West Side Story at the Artscape Opera House.

It. Was. AMAZING.

WSS-Production-02

Image via The Fugard Theatre. Click for site.

What I knew of The Fugard Theatre Company going in: they stage the well-known Rocky Horror Show in Cape Town regularly and do it well. Their home theatre is fairly small, so the Artscape was necessary for a production of this size.

What I knew of West Side Story going in: it is loosely based on Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet. It’s a musical. The music is by Leonard Bernstein, who was just all kinds of awesome. It is a super-popular musical all over the world.

That is all you need to know really. The cast is all-South African and all-talented. I loved it all: from the music (kudos to the orchestra) and the dancing (who said dance was for sissies?) to the lighting and the stage. The stage and props constituted a MASTERPIECE. It was so well-designed that I eagerly anticipated every set-change.

The show got a standing ovation last night, and it was well-deserved. It feels like a privilege to have watched it.

If you are in Cape Town – nay, in South Africa – you will not regret watching this production of West Side Story. It runs til 23 August – do it!

Disclaimer: This is not a sponsored post. I just loved the show.

6 thoughts on “Don’t Miss West Side Story at the Artscape!

  1. Now I am beyond jealous! I saw WSS in Bloemfontein in high school and loved it. I wish I could see it again. I’m also a huge Jonathan Roxmouth fan and am so disappointed that this production isn’t coming up north as well. Oh, well. At least Sweeny Todd (also starring Roxmouth) is coming to Jozi in October. I haven’t been to the theatre once yet this year, so I’ll beg, borrow and even steal to go see that.

      • I first saw him in Phantom of the Opera a few years ago, and have since seen him in Sunset Boulevard and several smaller productions. He’s a remarkably gifted actor and musician. I think my wife’s a little in love with him as well…

  2. Pingback: I Left My Voice In Cape Town | Barefoot Whispers

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

