I Left My Voice In Cape Town

Standard

Here’s one way I didn’t expect my first day back at work to go:

“Go home! You’re going to make the patients sick!”

Which I suppose makes sense since in the Orthopaedics wards, very few of our patients are actually SICK. They’re mostly just broken. And if they become sick we can’t discharge them and that spells disaster given our already-high patient load.

So here I am, in bed, drugged up on flu meds.

My break in Cape Town was wonderful. I spent time with my little sister and with GeekBoy. We watched West Side Story and ate wonderful food. On two separate occasions I managed to catch up with friends (one from school, another who emigrated to Australia) whom I hadn’t seen in over FIVE YEARS. I also met up with the lovely Lily from Lily Does Medschool.

IMG_5702

Sister, GeekBoy and I at Vovo Telo (awesome bakery!)

I ran the Greenpoint parkrun (fun!), ate ice cream at my favourite ice cream parlour in Cape Town (Carrot Cake flavour! Cookie Dough! Salted Caramel! Chocolate Orange!) and frequented many bookshops, including Bikini Beach Books in Gordon’s Bay.

IMG_5700

Then I got sick.

Cape Town has a bug going around.

Couldn’t I at least get sick any other time, like a normal human being?! So, I pretended I wasn’t sick.

Which is probably why I currently don’t have a voice.

It’s our clinic day tomorrow, and it will be a monumental disaster if I can’t ask the patients anything.

Better get better, then.

At my favourite #books store in #capetown🙂 #bookish #bookworm #bookstagram #nerd #southafrica #holiday

A photo posted by Megz (@barefootmeds) on

7 thoughts on “I Left My Voice In Cape Town

  1. I’m jealous of that bookstore! Although I have a library down the street and a free library (where people leave books they don’t want and take ones they do) next to my apartment, so I’m not suffering from a lack of books at the moment.

    • Wow, I would love to start or make use of a little free library. Heh. But there will never be enough book shops for me. Even if I don’t buy any books, I love walking around in them.

  2. Pingback: How To Run A Clinic Without A Voice | Barefoot Whispers

  3. Pingback: A Big Apple A Day…! | Barefoot Whispers

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

