Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts #8

Standard

Link up with Christine here.

1. I’m listening to the audio of The Martian by Andy Weir and I actually really like it. I got it for my dad as a gift and he LOVED it. I can understand the problems that some people have with it but for me, it works great. Also, the narrator is so good. My favourite line so far: “Hell yeah I’m a botanist!”duct-tape-quote-from-the-martian-by-andy-weir2. Signups for Ninja Bookswap are now open! I participated in the Spring swap at the beginning of the year and the mini swap recently; and both were absolutely wonderful! This time around there is a regular swap but also a penpal swap. Check it out here.

3. In the same vein, August was a FANTASTIC month for books. I received two awesome books for the mini swap from Nahree, I bought tonnes of books when I went to Cape Town for my leave, loads of books at a local sale, AND loads of books online. Perfection. I need a new bookshelf.

4. I have a few projects going on at the moment: I’m working on a case report, a novel (hopefully), as well as a business project. I can’t really elaborate too much about them at this point but it’s rather exciting. I may also be heaping too much on my plate.

5. I’m participating in the #SOTPSeptemberBookChallenge15 on Instagram. Because bookstagram is so much fun. I’m pretty new to Instagram, and you can find me here.

Can someone figure out how to embed Instagram into your post without it being a MASSIVE photo? Til then, I'll just do it the old-fashioned way...

Can someone figure out how to embed Instagram into your post without it being a MASSIVE photo? Til then, I’ll just do it the old-fashioned way…

6. I’m thinking of joining Ultimate Frisbee. It’s a super popular sport (sport??) among the doctors here. Actually, I’ve already been coerced to sign up to a team but so far have used being on call as an excuse not to go. I’m terrified. But also I think it can be awesome. Convince me to suck it up and go already?

7. Santa Shoebox is open for pledging! This is a project that distributes boxes full of Christmas goodies to underprivileged children in South Africa and Namibia. So, kind of like a Ninja Swap! I would highly suggest participating, it is so much fun. If you’re not in the country, or you are too busy to pack a box yourself, there are 2000 boxes for sale online. Visit Santa Shoebox here.

8. Allow me to do some unsolicited advertising: if you’re a South African bookworm, check out Reader’s Warehouse. They are absolutely awesome and if you purchase for over ZAR250 your courier delivery is free. So basically: a South African Book Depository.

9. September: the final four months of my first year of internship. And my old nemesis: Surgery. Just typing that exhausts me. However, doing my first surgery call this past Tuesday was not as bad as expected, soooo… perhaps there is hope.

10. I was sick for most of August and as a result did not run. At all. Except for at work, which you could probably classify as running. Anyway, I ran for the first time again on Monday. It was good. I’m thinking of signing up for a trail run hosted by two small rural hospitals in October. It is 28km… which will be my longest run so far.

What’s news in your life so far? Tell me something interesting!🙂

7 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts #8

  1. Oh, you’ve bought some great books!!! I LOVE Bikini Beach Bookstore in GB, as well as Reader’s Warehouse – they are really affordable! I picked up The Beedle and the Bard for R40 on RW!!!! I look forward to reading your thoughts on Beastkeeper and Talon!

    Nihaad – the little blog of STUFF

  2. I LOVE The Martian – I read the book instead of listening to the audio book. I have a 7 hour drive to Chicago tonight, so I might as well listen to it as well!

    Thanks for the shout-out, by the way! I’m so glad that I got you as a swap – you have such a cool blog and it’s so fun learning about different countries and professions!

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

