A Big Apple A Day…!

Standard

SO. In a turn of extremely good luck I AM GOING TO NEW YORK CITY SOON! It’s too complicated a story but essentially: I’ll be there for three days. I’ll see Madonna in concert at Madison Square. EEEEP.

I’ve JUST recently had leave from work and was fully intending on taking my next week holiday in December but this is kind of too big an opportunity to pass up so OH WELL.

The last time I was in NYC

The last time I was in NYC

Can you tell I’m hopping up and down on my bed with excitement?!

I was in NYC in 2010 for Pride and all sorts of fun. So it’s been a while. Also, Googling NEW YORK CITY is extremely overwhelming. Therefore I call upon you, my glorious bloggy friends, to offer advice and answers to my questions:

  1. What do people wear to a Madonna concert?!
  2. I want to go to bookshops! Nice ones and then also some cheap ones. I fully intend to pack three outfits and bring tonnes of books back. Because duh. Which ones should I definitely not miss? (Please don’t point me to articles like “Best bookshops in NYC” because they are just overwhelming. Tell me YOUR favourites, bearing in mind that I won’t be in town for long.)
  3. Free wifi… is it easy to find?? I think I will just take my iPad and leave my laptop at home.
  4. Other bookish places to visit? Somewhere that I can buy geeky Harry Potter stuff or what not?
  5. Any medical nerdy type places?
  6. Any must-go places that are underrated?
  7. Cheap-ish places to eat?
  8. I bought a pop-up map in 2010… can I still use it? I’ve also downloaded a gazillion maps on my iPad.

I’m planning on doing some of these things. Tell me if you agree or disagree with any of them:

  • running in Central Park (any other good run spots? Trail running spots?)
  • walking the High Line
  • Chelsea market
  • Museum of Natural History
  • rooftop bars – any suggestions?

OHMYGOSH just tell me everything please!

I can totally go without sleep for a few nights in order to soak up as much as possible. Jet lag? Doesn’t matter, I work 24 hour shifts anyway๐Ÿ˜‰

13 thoughts on “A Big Apple A Day…!

  1. That’s amazing! I have never been in NYC, but from what I’ve heard the High Line is amazing and Strand seems to be The Bookstore To Visit When in NYC (according to the book bloggers I follow๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I’ve been to New York once, a few years ago, and we spent a few hours at The Strand. It’ definitely a must see, just for the volume alone. Have fun!

    And you can never go wrong with some skinnies and a black top at a concert.

  3. Just found your blog – nice stuff!๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing your journey!
    You have to go to the observatory while in NYC: https://whereiscristina.wordpress.com/2015/05/31/to-see-in-nyc-one-world-observatory/ Even though I’ve been living in NYC for a couple of years I was impressed to see the city from 101st floor, and the elevator ride is magnificent. They also have student discounts, but it’s still expensive.

    Botanical garden – so so. Here are a few pix if interested: https://whereiscristina.wordpress.com/2015/06/01/to-see-in-nyc-ny-botanical-garden/

    Running in central park is awesome! the small loop is just under 2 miles, lots of people though – depending on the time of the day of course. Enjoy!

  4. I’m so excited for you!! Wish I could offer advice, but I’ve only been there twice and both times, I did very touristy things with my family. Hope you have a ton of fun – take lots of pictures! Do you have instagram? I’m @etudesque on there.

  5. Running along the East River is great, and also the Hudson. Walking/running the High Line is best as early as possible in the morning, before it gets super crowded with tourists.

    The Strand is a must for bookstores.

    I love Wok to Walk for a meal, and lots of delicious cupcakes to be found around the city (Molly’s). Spending time in The Village is a must.

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

