An Audio Treat in Afrikaans

Standard

As a little girl, my dad created a special story and character with which to entertain me at bedtime. Her name was Lientjie (pronounced “Linky”) and she was a “cheerful butterfly”. As you may recall, my dad is visually impaired, so bedtime stories were told (often of his own invention, as is this one) and not read.

Lientjie was so well-loved that she was introduced to my little sister and little brother, and also our cousins. She is an institution in our family, so to speak.

Recently we bought my dad an awesome birthday gift: a Crosley Troubadour, which plays vinyls, tapes, and all other media. It has a great function where you can burn your tapes and vinyls to MP3 format. So courtesy of that, i get to share an excerpt of my dad’s story!

You’re in for a treat, too; because I just loved the limelight as a little girl and I couldn’t stop interjecting. Sometimes, I lost the plot completely, almost changing the entire story!

If you don’t understand Afrikaans, I’m sorry that you won’t understand this clip. However, for a long time I have been threatening to turn my dad’s stories into children’s books. If we do this, you may well get to read them.🙂

If you do understand it… let me know what you think🙂

8 thoughts on “An Audio Treat in Afrikaans

  1. This is so precious I can barely stand it. You as a little tiny, enthusiastic thing, rapt as you listen to the story and so involved in it! (no surprise there) Your dad as a loving father, an engaged and dramatic reader who is relishing this time with his little girl. The snoring! OMG. It’s awesome. Though I didn’t understand the WORDS, I understood the LOVE. I listened to all of it, your joy and disappointment at the turns of the tale. You are sooo lucky to have this recording. Now I’ve got to go, have something in my eye…❤

  2. What a delight to hear! Please strongly consider turning them into children’s books, I don’t understand Afrikaans but I am curious to know what the story is about especially since you’re so enthused with the story and your interjecting is just precious.

    • I am seriously considering it! Right now I’m looking for an illustrator because I don’t really draw myself but I feel strongly that the illustrations must be special; and specific to the story. But I’m busy translating already🙂 Thank you!

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

