Recovery, Divided or Together

Standard

The burns’ ward in our hospital is kind of special. It is the only ward that hosts men, women and children together. It is the only ward where everyone has exactly the same problem. It is one of our cleanest wards, and has a high staff-to-patient ratio.

But it’s not a pleasant place. The smells and the pain levels are hard for me to witness, so being a patient there must be so much worse.

I cannot help but notice, whenever I go in there, that the male patients are all sitting around one of the tables, telling stories and having a good time. In the adjoining room, the women all sit by their own beds, doing their own things.

It’s just so… jarring.

As an introvert, I totally understand the need for alone-time. But I NEVER see the women in this ward hanging out.

Support is so important in recovery.

I just wonder why they keep away from one another.

7 thoughts on “Recovery, Divided or Together

    • Me too. I feel that the cultural difference makes it so hard because a lot of my patients (especially the younger ones) become suspicious when I ask them about the less tangible things. I still have a lot to learn, I think.

  1. I like your thought Elderly Young Adult. Not that you Mariechen would necessarily would have that time. Maybe a social worker or Chaplin or …?❤
    Nancy

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

