Top Ten Books I Read in 2015

Standard

What a year! It’s interesting that as I perused the list of books I read in 2015, I realised that I couldn’t simply choose the books I gave the highest ratings to. Ratings are fallible in that way, I guess. So there are some books here that I gave four or three “stars”, while some “five star” books don’t make the list.

Here we go (In no particular order):

1. A Man of Good Hope by Jonny Steinberg

If you haven’t heard me go on about this book WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN?! I recommended this book to four people this past year and they all devoured it.

Reasons to add this to your TBR: non-fiction that reads like fiction, well-researched, focuses on refugees (i.e. current), shortlisted for the Alan Paton Non-Fiction Award 2015.

refugees-portugal-crisis

2. Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen by Garth Nix

I waited like ten years for this book! And it did not disappoint. Prequels have a way of ruining things, but this one was just fantastic.

Reasons to add this to your TBR: an asexual protagonist, and a plot that refuses to do what you want it to do. Unpredictable.

clariel_by_lauratolton-d88hinr

Fanart by LauraTolton – click for link

3. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

THANKS TO MY NINJA FOR GETTING ME THIS BOOK!! This “retelling” of A Thousand and One Arabian Nights was so beautiful and the book is also beautiful. And aaaah bring me the sequel now!

Reasons to add this to your TBR: brave and stubborn female lead; magic and sorcery; characters who are not what they seem.

tumblr_npnfzwlqhh1usoccro1_500

4. The Martian by Andy Weir

Okay so I know the “literary” thing to do these days is not to like this book (a lot of authors I respect disliked it) but I loved it! I listened to it in audio and the narrator is fantastic. My only gripe was the way he reads female characters.

Read: Hey Audiobooks, That’s Not What Women Sound Like by Jessica Woodbury

Reasons to add this to your TBR: SCIENCE! MARS! 

5. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

I finally caved and read this book. Although I’ve been getting tired of the many “death narratives” popping up in YA, I was mostly pleased by this book.

Reasons to add this to your TBR: handwritten poems throughout the book, secondary characters that show real development and growth, and a protag that plays the clarinet. 

2969318a53590673b27e35f04f245c53

6. Undertow by Michael Buckley

Such a unique sci-fi that I didn’t even mind it being part of a series.

Reasons to add this to your TBR: SEA. FUCKING. ALIENS.

7. White Cat by Holly Black

The most underrated magical series ever. I’m addicted.

Reasons to add this to your TBR: messed up family dynamics, betrayal, and hilarity.

8. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Now you see, I only gave this book three stars on GoodReads and now I’m not sure why. I really enjoyed it, apart from the slight medical inaccuracy but you know, whatever.

Reasons to add this to your TBR: The first line is, “I’ve read many more books than you.”

9. Suicide Med by Freida McFadden

I loved this med-school thriller.

Reasons to add this to your TBR: cus it’s better than Grey’s Anatomy.😉

10. The Triumph of Seeds by Thor Hanson

A micro-history that proves how fascinating seeds are (no, really!).

Reasons to add this to your TBR: it equips you with fun facts suitable for the dinner table (apart from the curare one) and also it makes you cleverererer. 

Edit: I just counted and exactly half of these were in my June list of Top Ten Books Read So Far. That’s cool, right?!

Linking up with Top Ten Tuesday at The Broke and the Bookish.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Read in 2015

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

