Books That Were Out Of My Comfort Zone

Standard

I’m linking up with The Broke and The Bookish for Top Ten Tuesday. This week is somewhat similar to the previous TTT, Books That Were Hard To Read, but also not entirely.

read out of comfort zone

1. Skin by Ilka Tampke

24721903This book is set in Britain AD 43 just before and during the Roman Siege. It’s kind of… like a literary Asterix and Obelix with a lot more gender equality and a kick-ass female protagonist.

Why it was out of my comfort-zone: For some reason I have always struggled with British historical fiction. (Granted it’s usually regency-era stuff that I’ve tried.) The few times that I have read books that dealt with Pagan traditions they have also seemed very biased.

Skin was one of a kind: it is beautifully written, haunting, gripping, and the element of magical realism blends right in.

2. The Girl With All The Gifts by M.R. Carey

Why it was out of my comfort-zone: I’ve never really read an adult-paranormal book. They tend to be overly-sexualised and poorly-plotted. And this wasn’t. ALSO, my dad and I listened to it on Audible, and it was also a HUGE jump for him. His typical reads are contemporary or historical fiction and this was the first time he ever read something like this!

246122673. Lactivism by Courtney Jung

This book promises to expose the myths and politics behind the “breast is best” movement.

Why it was out of my comfort-zone: I typically don’t read books that claim to expose inaccuracies in modern medicine because they tend to be bullshit… but to my surprise it was well-researched, well-written, and open-minded.

4. My Year of Running Dangerously by Tom Foreman

Why it was out of my comfort-zone: I am (used to be?) the least sporty person in all my social circles, and I had never even been tempted to read a sports-memoir of any kind. Not only did I enjoy this, but it inspired me to run my first marathon, and enter for the Two Oceans Ultra Marathon.

239642365. The Future of Sex by Lexi Maxxwell

This erotica novel is set in the world of The Beam (another sci-fi novel). It is sci-fi erotica, and it was kind of out there – but I enjoyed it!

Why it was out of my comfort-zone: I rarely read erotica because I find the writing to be of such poor quality. I hate the characters, I hate the writing, everything about it makes me want to be sick. Lexi Maxwell actually managed to avoid most of the pitfalls.

6. The Princess Bride by William Goldman

It’s labelled a classic and satire, two works that I tend to have difficulty with. I struggled with this, but it was a good experience.

7. Doll Bones by Holly Black

Middle Grade Horror – I don’t often read MG, and I am a huge scaredy-cat!

  * * * 

It turns out I can’t really think of any recent reads that were out of my comfort-zone. This either means I’m not challenging myself enough, or that my reading choices are already so eclectic that I don’t have much of a comfort zone.

02a0c54f51afd1fb44d42e1333ea3288

So: challenge me! Give me a book that will take me beyond my boundaries! (If you want, check out my Goodreads shelf to see what I read.)

9 thoughts on “Books That Were Out Of My Comfort Zone

  1. I’m quite interested in Lactivism. I’m afraid I’ve always been a promoter and I see with my niece (she is and her baby is not gaining weight) and my d-i-l (she isn’t and her daughter is thriving) that other options work best for some.

    Here’s Books I Love…and Hate.

  2. You DO read a really broad range of books. That’s awesome! I saw Because You’ll Never Meet Me on your TBR list on Goodreads. It’s one of my recent favs. Hope you’ll have a chance to check it out soon! My list is here: TTT

  3. What did you think of The Anatomy of a Calling: A Doctor’s Journey from the Head to the Heart and a Prescription for Finding Your Life’s Purpose by Dr. Lissa Rankin?

    I sent it to you a while back and it was definitely outside my comfort zone as her style of practicing medicine is confronting.

    Good wishes, Megz!
    Stephanie

  4. Oh! Just saw Princess Bride on here too! It’s my favourite movie, and while the book has some weirdness, it still holds up! Very quirky.

  5. Pingback: Books To Read If You’re In The Mood For A Saga | Barefoot Whispers

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

