The Nicest Interns: Part 1

Standard

It’s so easy to complain about my daily work. Annoying patients, a system that is falling apart a little more every day, and inconsiderate or lazy doctors and nurses  <– you see?

And then there are some of my colleagues who just really make me want to be a better person – and a better doctor.

One of our intern-colleagues is well-loved for being a bundle of fun and kindness. Whatever event our hospital’s social committee organises: he’s there, and he is their biggest promoter. He introduces people to each other, and he encourages them to get out of their shell.

animals-that-dont-suck-30-photos-9

Then there was that one time he walked around casualty on Easter Weekend dressed as the Easter Bunny, handing out goodies to all the interns on-call.

How nice is that?!?!?!

When he has a calm call-duty, he walks around and helps the services that are having a rougher time of it.

Written down, it may seem like he is the biggest gunner or kiss-ass. But he is just so genuine that it does not seem to get on anybody’s nerves (not even my very flammable ones).

I’m by far not a lazy or a mean intern, but when I see people like this guy, I just think: wow. I want to be like that when I grow up.

6 thoughts on “The Nicest Interns: Part 1

  1. I am certain there already are many who look at you and think…”when I see people like this (guy), I just think: wow. I want to be like that when I grow up.” Yup!❤
    Nancy

  2. Hi, I am Mo. I am currently a grade 10 student and it’s my dream to study medicine. I’m hoping to get accepted at Stellenbosch University🙂

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

