Does It Have To End?

Standard

c4e635ecb89b5ed4844f087dca6580b1My four-month stint on the paediatric service comes to an end this week.

I enjoyed paediatrics in medical school, but never as much as this. How wonderful it was to be excited about work, to enjoy it so much that I willingly and eagerly read up more about all my cases.

It may have been one of the most challenging rotations – and it was good to see myself growing in confidence and ability.

There is so much work to do in paediatric healthcare, especially because you inadvertently treat the caregivers as well. And women are another group so sorely neglected in our environment. 

Despite some real health scares this past month (mental and physical), I think back on these four months fondly. Even the department was mostly good to work in.

I have applied to do my Community Service year in a paediatric hospital, but I know how small my chances are, and how lucky I will be to get it. I may well end up working the emergency room for the entire year, seeing children only for a few minutes before they either go home, or go on to the paediatric department.

How I will miss this.

And then I will move on to Internal Medicine, the most dreaded rotation, at the worse of the two hospitals where I work. Four months of Internal Medicine, and most cases are reportedly not even proper Internal Medicine cases.

I have to push through. Others have made it and so can I. My other dreaded rotations turned out quite well.

These next four months will be an exercise is perseverance, resilience, self-care, and empathy.

Hope I can do it.

6 thoughts on “Does It Have To End?

  1. I know you can do it Mariechen! You will do it, you can make it through. This I know. I am rooting for your Community Service year in paediatrics, sounds like you have found where your heart is in medicine! Good for you!!!!❤ Nancy

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

