End Of Internship

img_01521So this is it?

Last night I did my last call duty of internship – in Internal Medicine, of all things.

This morning, I finished my post-intake ward round, said a few unceremonious goodbyes, and walked out.

And off I went. 

 

It feels a little anticlimactic, to be honest.

Two years.

I walked into my first day of work so nervous that I trembled too much to place an IV.

A month later I cut my first c-section.

Two months after that I got a needle stick injury.

I learned to amputate fingers. I drilled into legs. I intubated so many times that I started dreaming (literally) about difficult airways.

I heard heart rate monitors in my head while falling asleep post-call.

I once walked out of a casualty theater having placed a chest tube, not remembering a single thing. But the patient was fine.

I walked through dark corridors, afraid.

I had patients who loved me and patients who hated me.

I had horrible days and I had wonderful days.

And I had some very challenging times too, especially recently; and I learned to ask for the help that was not readily available, but eventually found.

The past two years have been the biggest learning curve. And I have been lucky to be in a hospital where there is supervision as well as the opportunity to learn to practise independently.

I’ve changed in ways I can’t quite fathom yet.

I still wake up sometimes thinking, “Really? I’m a doctor?”

There is so much yet to learn.

I’m a little sad to leave all of this behind. To move on.

But I’m also excited for what lies ahead.

Tomorrow I leave for Cape Town, where I’ll be doing my year Community Service posting. I’ll be working with kids for the entire year, and I’m thrilled.

Here’s to the year ahead.

13 thoughts on “End Of Internship”

  1. Wow Mariechen! You did it!!! And you are going to to continue doing it!!!!!! Well done my friend, yes you really are a doctor, you are real!!!!! Thank you for taking us all along on the journey. You are beautiful and amazing.

    Nancy

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

