Doctoring in Heels

Standard

GeekBoy is really good at foot massages. You know that good-painful type where one squeezes all the knots from a persons feet.

I discovered this because I needed a foot massage after work today. For some reason I thought it wise to work in heels for close on ten hours.

via Deviantart Kiba-Kun1289 (click for link)

via Deviantart Kiba-Kun1289 (click for link)

They weren’t stilettos or anything.  I’ve never worked in heels before, but I’m on Orthopaedics now (rotation number three, look at me!) and Fridays are supposed to be our “formal days”. The men all wear bow ties so I figured my dress would look nice with kitten heels.

I also banked on the day being somewhat shorter. I did not consider the possibility of having to round on our near-100 patients alone because the seniors in my team were all caught up in other duties.

Granted, I was fine til about 14h30. After that I was not really fine. I had flats in my bag but I guess I wanted to see how long I could stand it. I once did a 24 hour shift with a doctor who was wearing heels with her scrubs and claimed her feet didn’t hurt at all.

Being fairly short I did enjoy the extra height, but heck… next Friday I’ll just wear a bow tie.

15 thoughts on “Doctoring in Heels

  1. Of course it is fun to be tall(er) but for heaven’s sake, Doc, dump those heels! I hope you never do that to yourself again. If you feel the need to “dress up” with a skirt or something, try VERY comfortable flats (like Earth Shoes… they can be pricey but they last a long time and they are so worth it) that offer some support for your back, feet and legs. If you save your body from damage you’ll still be able to put on some heels for a special occasion with GeekBoy!😉 XO

  2. My secret weapon- Tory Burch half-wedges. Break those suckers in and they are as comfy as a pair of clogs. I’ve had the same pair for 6 years. Served me well.
    Not sure how cold it gets there, but ECCO have the most comfy boots that look great with a skirt or dress.

    • I don’t know Tory Burch or ECCO, but I’m looking into them right now! I think wedges of some sort are definitely the way to go.
      (As for cold – not very. It’s the middle of winter now and our minimum temperatures have been like 15 celsius. But boots are still awesome, heh.)

  3. not all heels are created equal–i have a pair that is SUPER comfy, that i can walk miles and miles in. i wear those to work. not any others, though!

      • Do they really help? The one with the silicone on the bottom bit to rest your wrist on right? Yeah my whole arm sometimes just seizes up and even typing becomes difficult.

        I have never experienced that before, but my new job involves a LOT of scrolling😦

        Thanks for the suggestion! I’ll have to try it!

    • Oh I know, in most sectors here Fridays are also casual days. But as you might have noticed, South African doctors do not dress very formally at ALL. Fridays tend to be our days with lots of academic meetings, M and Ms, etc; so less clinical and therefore more welcoming to formal dress? I don’t knooooow. Anyways it was pretty funny seeing all of the men in bow ties.😛

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

