Bookish (and not so bookish) thoughts

Joining up with Christine from Bookishly Boisterous for this post – she’s been doing them for a  while now, but is starting a link-up this week. In her words, It allows book bloggers (or any blogger, for that matter) to write about pretty much anything, bookish or otherwise.

bookishthoughts

1. I started reading “Last Night I Dreamed of Peace” by Dang Thuy Tram. It is the diary of a young surgeon during the Vietnam War. Thuy was 25, freshly graduated, and female. I bought this book in Vietnam and reading it just reminds me why I fell in love with the country.

2. I have also been journaling more since starting #1. There are some things I cannot blog about, I guess. And I can’t just waste my beautiful journals.

3. I am going to need to write quite a few follow-up posts after being Freshly Pressed last week (that was an awesome experience, by the way, and thanks to everyone who is new to my blog). I realised that to someone not in the profession, my post probably came across a bit more pessimistic or unpatriotic than it was intended. Quite a few commenters also gave me some ideas for posts.

4. South Africa is the only place that is home, and the only place that thrums in my veins.

5. It is Diversity Week at my university. Last night this one girl did some spoken word poetry and it resonated so well with the whole audience – a very, very diverse audience. Check out the video. The poem she performed is close to the end.

6. Recently I happened to be on a bus full of first year medical students. I took up fly-on-the-wall status. They were so fun to listen to. They also at one point spoke about the “bronchial vein” when they meant to say “brachial”, which made their conversation quite entertaining.

7. I have a first year shadowing me in hospital at the moment. Hectic pressure to perform and teach, but I like it actually.

8. After what feels like a six month winter, we finally had some pleasant temperatures in Cape Town this week. Summer must be truly on its way, and not a moment too soon. I even managed to gain some colour while reading in the sun. (Reading – see, it’s a bookish thought.)

9. I spent an inordinate amount of time working on an essay for a competition, and just realised that if the results aren’t favourable, I shall have to convince myself that it remains a valuable exercise.

10. Writing ENT exam on Friday. I am so screwed.

12 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so bookish) thoughts”

  1. Love your third point ❤

    I've been journaling for years and I agree, there's just some things you can't really blog about. Right now I have a stack of pretty, empty journals just waiting to be filled xD

    Best of luck on your ENT exam! I'm sure you'll do awesome 🙂

  2. Spring or Summer, whichever it is it sure is giving us mixed signals… up here in Gauteng we are going from summer conditions to winter over night…
    Good luck with the exams..

  3. Thanks for participating!

    I’ve been journaling fairly consistently since I was 7- I keep them all in a bag in my closet, but have been feeling compelled to set them out somewhere that guests won’t have access too (God forbid).

    Good luck on your exam!

    1. Hah! I’ve journaled on and off since about the same age, but unfortunately I basically destroyed my own archives when I was about 17. I was embarrassed and annoyed by the things I had written and burnt a whole load of them. I regret it now.

  4. I enjoyed the video presentation of Allison-Claire Mpho Hoskins. How wonderful to have such a healthy self-esteem at her age especially living in South Africa. My experience at her age was very different.

    1. It is one of many benefits of the age we live in now – there are so many people encouraging teens to love who they are and where they come from. I wish it had always been like that.

  5. Journaling has been so therapeutic for me over many years. I don’t journal as much anymore except when I have to sort out jumbled thoughts and emotions 🙂 All the best with your ENT exam.

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

