Implanon in the Bible. Apparently.

Standard

ME: I’m sorry to tell you that you’ve had a complete miscarriage.

HER: Oh. Okay.

ME: Was this a planned pregnancy?

HER: No! It was an accident.

ME: Are you planning a pregnancy in the near future?

HER: Not really. I have one already. I can’t afford another baby.

ME: Then I think we should discuss family planning.

HER: *blank*

ME: Prevention.

HER: Oh. Yes.

ME: Even though you don’t want any future children, we don’t recommend tying your tubes at such a young age. The Copper T is always a good idea, but have you heard of Implanon?

HER: I don’t know.

ME: Implanon is a little stick, like a matchstick, that we put in your arm-

HER: Oh yes. I’ve heard of that.

ME: Good. It lasts for three years. It’s not too long but it gives you enough time-

HER: No. No I don’t want that.

ME: Is there a reason? It won’t hurt you and the side-effects are a lot fewer than the injections you’ve been getting.

HER: Implanon is not for me.

ME: You’re absolutely allowed your choice but can you share why you think it’s not for you?

HER: You know.

ME: I don’t.

HER: It’s like they say in the Bible.

ME: *blank*

HER: It’s the mark. The one at the end of days.

ME: Implanon is the mark of the beast?!

HER: YES!

The worst is that after some prodding, she said that a nurse at her local clinic was telling women this. I wish I could say she was the only patient who told us that, but no… it was quite a common belief.

8 thoughts on “Implanon in the Bible. Apparently.

  1. Same response to Mirena IUD here in the US. Many believe it will get lost or prevent them from getting pregnant in the future, even when they don’t want any more children. Friends advice is often given more credibility than medical advice.

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

